Every state, including Nevada, has deadlines- or statute of limitations- for filing malpractice lawsuits. The medical maIpractice statute of limitations in the state of Nevada is three years.
Nevada requires that medical malpractice cases must submit some proof of the defendant’s medical malpractice before a lawsuit is permitted to move forward. In Nevada, this is called an Affidavit of Merit. The affidavit must contain the opinion of an expert medical witness who must practice in the same or a similar field as the defendant.
Nevada medical malpractice caps have some interesting guidelines- there are three different types of medical malpractice damages: economic, noneconomic and punitive. Economic damages have no limits and are defined as any financial losses incurred by the patient. Noneconomic damages are a bit harder to define, and are limited to $350,000 per plaintiff. Punitive damages are awarded when malice is established. The maximum that a plaintiff can recover in punitive damages are either $300,000 or three times the amount of the economic and noneconomic damages combined, whichever is lower.
Costs, Requirements, and Limitations