According to AllLaw.com, every state, including Alaska, has deadlines—or statute of limitations—for filing medical malpractice lawsuits. In Alaska, the statute of limitations is two years. The discovery rule is an exception to the standard deadline in instances in which the plaintiff could not reasonably have learned that he/she even had a medical malpractice case. In Alaska, the discovery rule “delays the commencement of the statute of limitations until the date that the medical malpractice victim has information sufficient to alert a reasonable person to the fact that he has a potential claim for medical malpractice.” As for minors in Alaska, if a child under eight years of age is the victim of medical malpractice, the statute of limitations does not start until the child’s eighth birthday.
Alaska follows a "pure comparative negligence" rule which means that if a plaintiff is found to be negligent with respect to an injury, illness, or medical condition, the award of damages is diminished in proportion to the plaintiff’s fault. If, for example, you were awarded $50,000 in damages, but were found 10% at fault, your damages would be reduced to $5,000.
Costs, Requirements, and Limitations: